Staying Alive in the 905

Worth the drive to the 905

Posted on: November 24, 2009

Last night my dinner was prepared by a personal chef.  My friends and I were able to relax and watch Chef Jonathan McDonough prepare our four course meal.  Chef Jono is his corporate identity.  We were among 24 people gathered at tables in the test kitchen at the Hamilton Spectator for the one of the GoCooking fall sessions.

I subscribe to the Spectator and I’ve seen the advertisements for their cooking sessions on numerous occasions.   Each time I thought I would like to attend one of them.  Each features a different theme and chef. 

Thanks to friend Denyse, who made the booking in October, six hockey moms had a well deserved night out.  We came away with many tips we are eager to try.  Chef Jono presented a novel salad idea that I want to save as a surprise for my next guests. 

We watched and learned as Chef Jono demonstrated at an island with large mirrors mounted overhead.  He made a sophisticated looking salmon appetizer look incredibly simple.  He demystified some other culinary tasks and shared some recipes.

Our chef has an impressive list of creditentials.  He has worked at many top restaurants in Toronto and is the co-founder of ShaSha Bread Co. Inc.  As a self-employed personal chef he currently runs a catering business and conducts cooking classes.  Last night his company was involved in catering the It’s Always Something event held in Toronto to raise money for Gilda’s Club Toronto.

Two of his creations made use of  his own vinegars/dressings available in three flavours at specialty food stores such as Denningers and at Longo’s supermarkets.  We sampled the Pomegranate Balsamic and Blueberry Pepper.   I purchased both.  I will try the Hot Mango Pepper Sauce another time.

I see that the Spectator still has room at the table for the last fall session on December 1.  It features a Mediterranean theme with local chef Mark Farrugia.  Watch in early December for information about the upcoming winter series of events.

I hope to attend another of these sessions in the New Year. 

I visited the Chef Jono’s site today.  There are tips for party planning, recipes and information about his product.

Wines were presented by Roisin Furlong of Abuccuz Wine & Event Services, Dundas.

1 Response to "Worth the drive to the 905"

Wow that sounds like fun and a great promotion for both the chef and Hamilton Spec. I love getting new receipes and ideas – I was intrigued by the salad you mentioned that was unusual. S

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,037 hits
