Staying Alive in the 905

If she can wear it…I must.

Posted on: November 9, 2009

 

Last week the parents of three university students who drowned in a vehicle in a farm pond travelled to Dickinson, North Dakota to visit the scene of the accident and attend a memorial service.  One of those students was from Canada.  Bev and Phil Neufeld, parents of Ashley Neufeld, appeared with the others on national television.  As a mother I felt their pain and I immediately  noticed that Mrs. Neufeld, despite her obvious grief, was wearing a poppy.  In every photo that has appeared in print media she has been wearing her poppy.  

This made me feel ashamed for the many times I have left home without mine.  I have profound respect for our veterans and I believe the symbol of the poppy is as sacred as our flag.  This week I will not forget the sight of Mrs. Neufeld wearing her poppy and I WILL wear mine.  If she can remember, so can I.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,037 hits
