Staying Alive in the 905

Words to Live By….

Posted on: November 7, 2009

“The snow doesn’t come and stay until the lilacs drop their leaves.”

My grandmother and gardening expert, Marcia Cheney, Grand Manan Island

Yikes!!!

On Monday I noticed that three of my four lilacs are bare.  I am shocked.  I am certain that they have dropped their leaves earlier than normal this year.  However, here in southern Ontario, I think that a more accurate indicator of impending winter is the forsythia shrub.  My forsythia have not yet dropped their leaves.  I’ll be keeping a close watch.  I have always found that the colloquialisms of our elders, based on their years of observation are more accurate than not.  Time will tell.

Forsythia and Lilac

Forsythia and Lilac November 4, 2009 -- I will be watching for the forsythia leaves to fall and then will keep track of how long it takes before we get our first snowfall.

 

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,043 hits
