Staying Alive in the 905

Words to Live by….

Posted on: October 31, 2009

“All I know is that you can never buy back time with your children!”

–my mother, 21 years ago when I was trying to decide whether or not to return to work full-time.

She was right.  It doesn’t mean that mothers shouldn’t work but is a good reminder to all parents to make the most of the time we do have with our children before they become adults.

As a Home and School Association volunteer I met many wonderful people who always put the needs of children first.  Judith Bishop is one of them.  She has been a trustee for the Hamilton Wentworth District School Board for 20 years.  Prior to that she was a social worker and a kindergarten teacher.  Everyone in Hamilton should be grateful for her service – even if they don’t live in her ward.  She works tirelessly for the cause of public education and now she is blogging.

I admire Judith and I am always interested in what she is saying and thinking regarding education in Hamilton and Ontario.  She makes a difference because she cares.   I list her blog, All Childrens Potential, on my links.

2 Responses to "Words to Live by…."

I felt the same way as your Mom Sonja. I decided 13 years ago that I could always get another job but never another chance to be home with my kids for that early phase of their lives. And here I am back at university, getting ready to go back to full-time work. I know it is not possible or desireable for every parent to do full-time parenting but I am grateful we had the funds and ability to pull this off. Although I wonder if I would have fewer gray hairs if I had gone back to paid full-time work 13 years ago!

Helen

Thanks Helen,

I agree re the gray hairs. I ,also, am so glad I could be home for my childrens school years. I don’t think they could have done all their activities if I had worked. Well, maybe we would have hired someone to drive them around or relied on other moms. I certainly drove many boys to hockey practice or school sports whose mothers worked.
Something I did not prepare for is the self-doubt I’ve been feeling about trying to re-enter the work force. Like MacBeth I need to screw my courage to the sticking place I guess.
After all these years of feeling I was doing the right thing by staying home I now see many successful women whose children seemed to turn out fine. So it makes me wonder why I didn’t do it too?
That’s why I have to remember my mother’s words and.. that in the end what matters is family.
Cheers,
Sonja

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,037 hits
