Staying Alive in the 905

Try it! You’ll like it!

Posted on: October 24, 2009

Some products work so well they deserve some free advertising.  I love it when I find something that makes my life easier.

Often the best products are the oldest products.  When it comes to laundry I know of what I speak.  I’ve raised three boys, all hockey players.  I’ve washed a lot of foul-smelling gym and hockey gear.  

Borax is not just for science experiments.  The green box in the laundry detergent aisle boasting the strength of 20 mule teams really is ‘nature’s deodorizer’.  Detergent alone will not remove the odour of sweat.  Stain removers will not improve the smell but adding borax will freshen up almost everything.  

My grandmother taught me about this.  One summer in New Brunswick my son was working in a fish plant and I complained that I could not remove the smell from his work clothes no matter what I tried.   Ma to the rescue!  She asked, “Don’t you use Borax?”   Hmmm.  I always wondered what was in that green box.  I wasn’t much of a science student.

You must keep it away from children as this powder is toxic if ingested.  If you do not have young children or pets mix it with a bit of sugar and put it out to kill ants.  They love it.

Now there is a new product that I love.  Yes, I get excited about detergent.  Win is a liquid laundry detergent specifically for washing gym/workout wear. I’ve only seen it at Shopper’s Drug Mart.  There is regular scent and a “green” unscented version that works just as well. I’ve bought and used both.  They both remove the sweat odours but I prefer the unscented.

Sometimes I use both Win and Borax in the same putrid load.

Now if only the boys would bring their stuff to the laundry room more often.  I won’t go into the hockey bags.

1 Response to "Try it! You’ll like it!"

Hi Sonja, have you tried baking soda? It works very well too. I also use it in my cat litter, for general cleaning, etc.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 2,037 hits
